DMD logofinal no border


Award Categories


The Defence Media Dinner is pleased to announce that the Call for Nominations for the 2019 Defence Media Awards has closed. These are a distinct set of awards celebrating the very best in defence journalism and publishing. The shortlisted finalists will be announced soon.


The Award categories are as follows;


Best Young Defence Journalist - sponsored by NAMMO

Best Training, Simulation and Readiness submission - sponsored by CAE

Best Defense Aviation Submission - sponsored by Honeywell

Best Breaking News Story - available for sponsorship

Best Land Systems submission - sponsored by Northrop Grumman

Best Technology Submission - sponsored by Harris

Best Naval Systems submission

Best Un-manned systems submission

                        - sponsored by General Atomics Aeronautical Systems

Best Military Rotorcraft submission - sponsored by Elbit Systems of America

The John Morrocco Award for Best In-Depth Defense Reporting

- sponsored by Boeing

The Outstanding Achievement Award - sponsored by Lockheed Martin



The 2019 Defence Media Awards will be presented at the National Press Club in Washington D.C. on the 13th of October.  This will be the second presentation of these awards and promises to be a spectacular occasion.


All Nominations for articles should be for work published in the last 12 months


How to make a nomination

Please submit your entries in the following way:

•Name of nominee

•Title of article or publication being nominated and Award category

•Key reasons for nomination – no more than 100 words, please explain why the person, article or publication you are nominating deserves to be recognised

•Attach articles and supporting documents as pdf or word files


Submit all nominations to [email protected]  

Please ask for a confirmation of receipt for all submitted nominations



Nominations are limited to 1 entry per category, in the event of a nominee being nominated twice for the same category the nominee will be asked for their preference as to which nomination goes forward for judging. The reason to limiting nominations to one per category is two fold. Firstly it is to ensure the judges are presented with the very best work. Secondly on previous occasions, when two nominations per category were allowed, this sometimes resulted in the judges votes being split between the two nominations and the nominee losing out when the scores were compiled.


Deadline for Nominations

The closing date for nominations is Friday 12th July 2019


If you have any questions call  + 44 (0) 1362 860061 or email [email protected]  




Lead sponsor


Award Sponsors

boeing_logo_large CAE Logo Honeywell logo Nammo + WWTAPlukelogo_1 (002)

Official Charity

NG_Brand_Logo_Tag_White_OnBlue (2) (003) ESA_Logo_HR (002) L3H_118702T_TeaserCampaign_Logo_150x45 (002) GA ASI logo (002)